Studio Visits

jean-ronan-tom-3
Ronan Boyle and Tom Anselmi looking at paintings
ronan-jean-tom-1
 Everyone gets a little lecture before they’re allowed to leave.
david-briker-photo-by-bob
David Briker on deck (literally) waiting for Beth and Bob to make their final selection. Photo: Bob Hanham
Studio Visits are done, resulting in 7 (and possibly 9 or even 11) sales and a handful of strategies to think about. Bigger panels, higher prices, scarcity, merch potential, cultivating my Instagram, a show in LA, prints!

The “c” word got used for the first yesterday. Collector. As in a collector is sending someone over here to select three paintings.

All this action in an otherwise ultra-reclusive life could send some artists into a tailspin, but not me! I love it! This kind of thinking replicates what I have done with Mecca Normal for 30+ years. I love making things happen along these lines! Working with fabulous people!

With my FB painting sales tanking in January, now is a good time to consider other avenues. I don’t think I’ve lived above the poverty line since the mid-80s; I might wanna give that a try!

Favourite interactions with a total of 5 people I didn’t know:

 – David Briker comparing my paintings to Marlene Dumas, whose work I discovered about a month ago! Such a great compliment! Once I discovered her, I had to see everything, watch every video!! Life-altering. Truly. My work changed at that point. I mean, it changes all the time, but there was a fabulous shift for having seen her paintings.
 – Thomas asking me if I wanted his opinions. Me saying, “That’s why you’re here! Didn’t you know that?”
 – The great surprise of really liking Ronan Boyle’s paintings after he “tagged along” with Tom, bought a painting, and kindly shared his opinions about various directions I could go in.
 – Watching Beth go through the paintings, pulling out many of my favourites to consider. When work spans a year in solitude and then, finally people see it in person, watching the associations they make is really something. It’s watching a person’s inner workings come to the fore in response to something I created, something I obviously have strong feelings about. While I was sad to see those three paintings sell, I know where they are and I’ve already invited myself over for dinner!
 – Meeting and having a really fun visit with Bob and Beth.
 – David Briker introducing me to the work of Elisabeth Peyton. Noticing I really connect with the artists he likes, and the colours he likes and tends to use in his projects.
 – David Lester coming over for the Friday Studio Visit with Ronan and Tom. Things always go better when Dave is around!

Upshot: contact with humans IRL proves interesting

Thanks everyone for participating!!!

Below: paintings sold during this weekend’s Studio Visits
no-hat-138-800

SOLD

no-hat-129-800-2

SOLD

no-hat-124-800

SOLD

the-phone-800

SOLD

No Hat #85 800

SOLD

no-hat-103-800

SOLD

no-hat-95-800

SOLD

Tagged , , , , ,
