‘Friend me’ on FB

No Hat 133 800

Earlier today “No Hat #133” sold to a radio journalist in Stockholm, Sweden who found this website and fell for this painting!

I’m really excited about another painting going to Europe! Also, this is a great painting. Am I even allowed to say that? I wasn’t sure it would sell (for obvious reasons) – so, it’s a total thrill that it has, within the context of the overall project, been selected.

One of the big skills I possess (in painting) is knowing when to stop. This painting is an excellent example of that. I’m inspired to post a similar one with even fewer features that I painted a month ago. It’s one of the only ones that I’ve stopped and put aside to consider. I haven’t found a reason to add anything else to it, so I’m going to call it finished. Or maybe I’ll call it Swedished in honour of the radio journalist in Stockholm.

I paint start to finish, in one event. I think this comes from my upbringing around watercolour painters – my dad mainly. With watercolour, you keep moving forward after committing paint to paper. You don’t keep messing around with the paint once it’s down. I don’t follow that part of the process; I continue working with the paint for up to 4 hours.

It’s interesting to me when paintings sell from pages other than  on my FaceBook page, because that group is part of the project. They see the work first – sequentially, as it is created. Each new painting falls into an ever-evolving context in progress that is being created for over a year. Within this linear context, I’ve recently demonstrated that the images can be used for additional purposes long after they’ve been posted for sale (or sold).

It’s interesting to me that a painting that is now hanging in someone’s home can be on the internet saying, “No one is illegal.” Winnipeg artist, art critic and educator Steven Leyden Cochrane documented this over on Tumblr when he collected all the “No one is illegal” images in one post. Actually, for my recent project, I photographed paintings that have yet to sell, but, in theory, I could have used jpegs of work that has sold.

FaceBook reactions (likes, shares and sales) accumulate in the time immediately after posting paintings. I’ll be saying more soon about how using FB as a studio component and a venue affects me and the work.

It’s exciting to have had two recent sales in Europe. Shipping to most places in Europe is reasonable. I’ve sent paintings to France, Austria and the UK without tracking for $15 USD. Tracking seems to run an additional $20. In the 145 paintings I’ve sold, I’ve never had to use tracking.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,
